Knoxville News Sentinel
17 October 2016

Scripps Networks Interactive CEO Ken Lowe, three others, honored for “significant contributions to society”
Read the full story here.

The University of Tennessee board of trustees approved honorary doctorates for four men during the closing meeting of the UT board of trustee summit Friday.

UT awarded U.S. Sen. Harrison “Jack” Schmitt, former Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen and Kenneth Lowe. James “Jim” Herbert also is getting one from the UT Institute of Agriculture. UT Knoxville’s Honorary Degree Nominating Committee approved the awards.

UT President Joe DiPietro said the degree is a special recognition given to people who make significant contributions to society, UT grad or not.

"It’s an opportunity to honor someone who’s had a wonderful career and accomplished a lot in terms of what they’ve done for the university or, more importantly, society … They have to hold the gold standard when it comes to what they’ve accomplished in their lives where we see it as beneficial to society or the institution,” DiPietro said.

Kenneth W. Lowe
Lowe founded and launched the HGTV network and oversaw the acquisition of the Food Network and Travel Channel. Lowe moved the Scripps Network 1.5 Academic Affairs and Student Success Committee - Consent Agenda 240 Interactive corporate headquarters from Cincinnati to Knoxville.

Philip Bredesen
Bredesen served as Tennessee’s governor from 2003-2011. As governor he supported the Tennessee Lottery program and the millions of scholarships it has funded. Bredesen pushed UT’s relationship with Oak Ridge National Laboratories forward and helped to bring the Energy Science and Engineering Ph.D. program to UT Knoxville.

Harrison “Jack” Schmitt
Schmitt is a former U.S. Senator from New Mexico and was an Apollo astronaut and chairman of the NASA Advisory Council. He has been inducted into the Astronaut and the International Space Hall of Fames

James Herbert
Herbert graduated from UT with a bachelor of science degree in 1962. He co-founded the Neogen Corp. and has been named the Michigan Entrepreneur of the Year by USA Today and NASDAQ.
<< Back